eNewsletter Sign-Up

Silver Screen Club

Portland International Film Festival
Submit a Film
Northwest Filmmakers’ Festival
Northwest Filmmakers' Festival Submission
The Tour
Current Bookings
Portland Jewish Film Festival
Reel Music
Fresh Film Northwest
Submit a Film
Northwest Tracking
Top Down: Rooftop Cinema
Global Classroom
Northwest Filmmakers’ Festival

See festival highlights and film schedule

The Northwest’s premiere showcase of new work by regional filmmakers, the Northwest Filmmakers’ Festival—for 38 years called the Northwest Film & Video Festival—brings artists and audiences together for a singular community celebration. Each year the Festival draws more than 400 entries from filmmakers in Alaska, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington, presenting to the public carefully selected programs of outstanding work and awarding critical recognition to top juror- and audience-recognized films. After the Festival, the event lives on in the form of the “Best of the Northwest” touring program, presented at key cultural and educational organizations across the Northwest.



Submit your film to the 43rd Northwest Filmmakers' Festival 

Submission is free via our online entry form. Click here to submit.

Entry Information
Eligibility: Permanent residents of Alaska, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington may submit two works of any length or genre released since January 1, 2014. Student entries (college and university only) must be from a school located in the Northwest.


All submissions must be received no later than August 15, 2016.

Please email if you have questions about the submission process.

You can also submit via FilmFreeway. 


Entry is free using our entry form. There is a $2 surcharge per entry via FilmFreeway.

Notification and Entry Return

We will notify all filmmakers of the status of their work via e-mail by October 15, 2016.

42nd Northwest Filmmakers' Festival Audience Award Winners

Favorite Narrative Feature
Michelle Kim

Favorite Documentary Feature
Ian Berry

Favorite Documentary Short
Ivy Lin

Favorite Experimental Short
Stuart Eagon

Favorite Narrative Short
Ira Flowers

Favorite Animated Short
Joan Gratz

The Northwest Film Center is proud to have Steve Anker as the official Festival judge for its 42nd edition of the Northwest Filmmakers' Festival.

Festival, Tour, Awards & Honoraria
Following presentation in Portland, the Film Center will assemble selected works for the Best of the Northwest Touring Program that will circulate throughout the region in the following year. Works presented at the Festival and in the Tour will be screened in their original formats. This year’s Festival and tour participants will share in approximately $15,000 in lab service awards and Tour honoraria.

Press and Sponsorship Opportunities
The Festival is sustained through the encouragement, leadership, and generosity of loyal sponsors who value the unique artistic accomplishments of Northwest filmmakers and want to support the regional creative community. For information about partnership opportunities, contact Rachel Record at 503-221-1156 x17 or



Please direct all press inquiries to Nick Bruno, Publicity and Promotions Manager, at 503-221-1156 x20 or

Past Festivals
Visit the 41st Northwest Filmmakers' Festival micro site (2014) or visit our archive.

Past Judges

Christopher Rauschenberg Ted Mahar
Michael Almereyda Leonard Maltin
Freude Bartlett David Milholland
Ellen Bartow Marv Newland
James Benning Pat O’Neill
Phil Borsos Bill Plympton
Ernest Callenbach Kelly Reichardt
John Cooper B. Ruby Rich
Karen Cooper Rachael Rosen
Jo Ann Danzker Norie Sato
Steve Dejarnett Steve Seid
Gill Dennis Maureen Selwood
Sam Green Jill Sprecher
Matt Groening Amy Taubin
Andrea Grover Kenneth Turan
Todd Haynes Christine Vachon
Jim Hoberman Gus Van Sant
Dan Ireland Jane Veeder
Heike Kuehn Carmen Vigil
Edith Kramer Melinda Ward
Stan Lawder Gene Youngblood

© 2009-2022 NWFilmCenter  |  home  |  location  |  contact  |  |  p: 503-221-1156 A-VIBE Web Development